• Prof. Alexandre Tkatchenko

    Group Leader

    Alexandre Tkatchenko is a Professor of Theoretical Chemical Physics at the University of Luxembourg. He obtained his bachelor degree in Computer Science and a Ph.D. in Physical Chemistry at the Universidad Autonoma Metropolitana in Mexico City. In 2008−2010, he was an Alexander von Humboldt Fellow at the Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society in Berlin. Between 2011 and 2016, he led an independent research group at the same institute. Tkatchenko has given more than 230 invited talks, seminars and colloquia worldwide, published more than 150 articles in peer-reviewed academic journals (h-index=58), and serves on the editorial boards of Physical Review Letters (APS) and Science Advances (AAAS). He received a number of awards, including elected Fellow of the American Physical Society in 2019, the 2020 Dirac Medal from the World Association of Theoretical and Computational Chemists, the 2011 Gerhard Ertl Young Investigator Award of the German Physical Society, and two flagship grants from the European Research Council: a Starting Grant in 2011 and a Consolidator Grant in 2017. His group pushes the boundaries of quantum mechanics, statistical mechanics, and machine learning to develop efficient methods to enable accurate modeling and new insights into complex materials.

  • Igor Poltavskyi


    Research Interests: Statistical physics, imaginary-time path integral methods, nuclear quantum effects, ab initio simulations


    Working Experience:


    Senior Researcher January, 2016 - present University of Luxembourg


    Postdoctoral Fellow December, 2013 - January, 2016 Fritz Haber Institute of the Max Planck Society

    Postdoctoral Fellow July, 2012 - December, 2013 Institute of Theoretical and Computational Chemistry at POSTECH 

    Junior Research Associate April, 2009 - July, 2012 B. Verkin Institute for Low Temperature Physics & Engineering, National Academy of Sciences of Ukraine

The work of Prof. Alexandre Tkatchenko is supported in part by the European Research Council under the European Union's Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme (grant agreement n. 725291)  and by FNR.